You are here: Home Users Mark Newman Ulster Team 2018 Rapidplay Championships Ulster Team Rapidplay Championships 2018

Ulster Team Rapidplay Championships 2018

The Ulster Team Rapidplay Championships 2018 were played on Saturday 3rd February at the Good Shepherd Centre. A report of the event hot off the press from the brilliant organiser Brendan Jamison. With 72 players and some great chess.
Ulster Team Rapidplay Championships 2018
Report by Chief Arbiter Brendan Jamison
On Saturday 3rd February, the Ulster Team Rapidplay Championships were held at the Good Shepherd Centre on the Ormeau Road in Belfast. A total of 72 players competed over two large rooms, making it the largest chess tournament held in Northern Ireland over the past 10 years. Competitors ranged in age from 8 to 70 year olds and travelled as far away as Derry and Dublin. There was a wonderful buzz in the air and children enjoyed playing on the giant chess set in-between rounds.
The tournament welcomed back multi-award winning champion Gabor Horvath who played top board for Strand 1, the team that dominated the senior section to secure the shield with 19.5 points from 25. In comfortable second place, Muldoons finished on 15 points, with Ballynafeigh 1 ending on 12 points to take 3rd place.
The intermediate section saw the three top seeds of Bangor, Derry and Belfast South all enter the last round with only half a point between them. After a very close battle, Bangor triumphed with 17 points, with Derry finishing 2nd on 16 points, no mean feat considering they only had four players. Third place went to Belfast South.
The junior section saw the teenage team of Strand 3 win the championship with 15 points, while Strand 4 ended on 12 to lift 2nd place and Ballynafeigh 2 came 3rd.
The highest scoring players on each board are listed below. Well done to all the competitors and thank you for such a fun day.
Board Awards for Ulster Team Rapidplay Championships 2018
Senior Section:
1. Gabor Horvath (4/5 = 80%)
2. Nikhil Joshi (4/4 = 100%)
3. Lee Ting Yan (3/4 = 75%)
4. Colin Burcombe (4/5 = 80%)
5. Daniil Zelenchuk (3/3 = 100%)
Intermediate Section:
1. Niall Troughton (5/5 = 100%)
2. Brendan Jamison (4/4 = 100%)
3. Chris Armstrong (5/5 = 100%)
4. Martin Kelly (4/5 = 80%)
5. Craig Stevenson (3/3 = 100%)
Junior Section:
1. Adam Rushe (3/5 = 60%)
2. Evan Elwood (3/3 = 100%)
3. James Corscadden (3/4 =75%)
4. James Wong (4.5/5 = 90%)
5. Louie McConkey (4/5 = 80%)



Team Champions: Strand 1

Gabor Horvath

Nikhil Joshi

David Hill

Ross Harris

Modestas Razbadauskas

Daniil Zelenchuk



Team Champions: Bangor

Alan McConnell

Brendan Jamison

Sam Moore

Gary Johnston

Andy Boal



Team Champions: Strand 3

Adam Rushe

Ciaran Rowan

Michael Wong

James Wong

Louie McConkey

For further images and details from the event please visit
pic2 pic-a
pic-b pic-c
pic-d pic-e
pic-f pic-g