You are here: Home Archives Ulster Chronicles 2004-2005 Season UCU Web 2004 Ulster Schools Championships Ulster Schools' Individuals Tournament

Ulster Schools' Individuals Tournament

In November 2004, the Ulster Schools' Individuals Tournament was held in Royal Belfast Academical Institution. The competition was split into Under 19, Under 16, Under 14, and Under 12 sections.

Under 19

The under 19 section was the strongest in several years, with 18 competitors of whom eight competed regularly in senior competition during the 2004/05 season. Play was held over five rounds with the title being won by Chris Millar only after a tense final round decider in which he defeated first seed Calum Leitch.

Final Standings

Player School/Club Games Points
Chris Millar (1497) MCB/Fisherwick 5 4.5
Calum Leitch (1704) Campbell College/Bombardier 5 4
Ryan Murray (1493) RBAI/Fisherwick 5 4
David Symmington (1354) RBAI/Bangor 5 3.5
William Stewart (1243) RBAI 5 3.5
Shane Keers (1566) Sullivan Upper 5 3
Andrew Wright (1294) MCB 5 3
Nathan Stewart (1351) RBAI/Hillsborough 5 2.5
James Gill (1239) St.Columb's 5 2.5
John Gill (1054) St.Columb's 5 2.5
Matthew Leebody (933) RBAI 5 2.5
David McBride (1201) St.Malachy's 5 2.5
Nicola Hood (1001) MCB/Hillsborough 5 2.5
Timothy Ng (1036) Wallace 5 2
Andrew Hoey (897) St.Malachy's 5 1.5
Robert Lavery (895) St.Malachy's 5 1
Ryan Deane (951) MCB 5 1
David Corrie (994) Sullivan Upper/CIYMS 5 0.5

First Round

In the opening round first seed Calum Leitch enjoyed a comfortable win against Methody's First Division player Ryan Deane. In contrast, however, second seed Shane Keers lost to Nathan Stewart of RBAI and Hillsborough. The clash between Methody and St.Columb's first boards, Chris Millar and James Gill, was the final game of the round to finish and produced a draw.

Second Round

Calum Leitch and RBAI's Ryan Murray were among those to maintain a 100% record in the second round after beating Nathan Stewart and Andrew Wright respectively. Meanwhile, Shane Keers and Chris Millar enjoyed their first wins as each employed the French Defence.

Third Round

The most notable result from the third round was perhaps Calum Leitch's victory over Ryan Murray in a game which appeared to be heading for a draw. David Symington and David McBride both dropped off top spot as they agreed to a draw in their match.

Fourth Round

In the penultimate round Chris Millar and Calum Leitch set up a final round decider with each other as they both enjoyed comfortable wins over David Symington and David McBride respectively. Ryan Murray continued his push for a top three finish after defeating Sullivan Upper's Shane Keers.

Fifth Round

In the competition's concluding round Chris Millar defeated Calum Leitch to become Ulster Under 19 champion for the first time. The game itself was extremely close with a Dutch Defence opening that produced a position calling for careful manouvering from both sides as each player attempted to gain a positional edge. However, under time pressure, Calum dropped the exchange for a pawn and eventually his flag fell in what was a lost position. 

Ryan Murray, meanwhile, beat James Gill to secure third place behind Calum Leitch on tiebreak. Nicola Hood of Methody and Hillsborough defeated St.Malchy's captain Robert Lavery as she maintained her title as Ulster Schoolgirls' champion.  

Under 16

Methody's Simon Wright enjoyed his best form of the season to win the Ulster Under 16 tournament after finishing above strong opposition. This was primarily in the form of Sullivan Upper First Division players first seed Richard Montgomery and Robin Brown (who finished second and third respectively) and Methody third years Philip Chen and Frank Wu. 

Final Standings

Player School/Club Games Score
Simon Wright (900) MCB 6 5.5
Richard Montgomery (1493) Sullivan Upper/Bangor  6 4.5
Robin Brown (1302) Sullivan Upper 6 4
Philip Chen MCB 6
Fabian Schaub St.Malachy's 6 4

Frank Wu (894)

Eddie McCaffrey RBAI  6 3
Neil McAlister  Sullivan Upper  6
Aaron Murray  RBAI  6
Michael Milliken  St.Malachy's  6 2
Matthew McCaughey  St.Malachy's  6 2

Under 14

Ananda Srinivasan, of Methody and Fisherwick, followed up on his winning of the Civil Service Cup with eight victories from eight games to become Ulster Under 14 champion.

Christopher Kelly of St.Columb's finished with six points to finish second on tiebreak ahead of RBAI's David Haddock.

Under 12

City of Derry and St.Columb's player Leon Hulleman also dominated his section to finish with a 100% record after nine games.

Oliver Brown of Grange Park and Robin Claxton of RBAI finished second and third respectively with each completing the tournament on seven points from nine.

UK Chess Challenge 2021 Online + ‘Over the Board’ Terafinal ! The organisers of the UK Chess Challenge 2021. For School pupils has gone virtual. Please find details below. Registrati... Apr 19, 2021
Winter 2020 Tournament ends with fun event and Closing Ceremony Monday 29th March saw the last evening of the Winter Tournament with a fun swiss tournament followed by an award ceremon... Apr 11, 2021
Winter Tournament 2020 final results With 22 weeks of play and some brilliant chess. We have our final round and the results of this years Winter tournament.... Mar 28, 2021
The Virtual Ulster Masters was played on November 21st/22nd 2020 With two sections and some 23 players - the Masters was our first slow weekend Virtual Chess Tournament. With Senior Ch... Mar 27, 2021
The Virtual Rapidplay League 2020-21 Standings We are well into the Virtual Rapidplay League. What are the standings. Mar 27, 2021
More news…
« May 2021 »
Upcoming Events
Virtual City of Belfast 2021 The Virtual City of Belfast 2021 will take place over the weekend 29th - 30th May 2021. 5 rounds. May 29, 2021 - May 30, 2021 —
The ICU have announced: 100th Irish Championship 2021 This was last run successfully with distance rules enforced last year. The ICU hope to repeat this this year at the End ... Jul 31, 2021 - Aug 08, 2021 — Collaiste Eanna, Co Dublin
Upcoming events…