You are here: Home Users Mark Newman League Awards 2019-2020 ANNUAL AWARDS Belfast & District Chess League August 2020

ANNUAL AWARDS Belfast & District Chess League August 2020

Usually the awards are given out at the award ceremony. But this year our brilliant chess organiser Brendan Jamison has created a mobile award ceremony by visiting the winners homes and hand delivering the trophies - whilst maintaining social distance. A big thanks to Brendan.



During August 2020, Brendan Jamison has been travelling around the province to hand-deliver the individual league trophies to the 23 award winners for the 2019/2020 season. From Larne to Lisburn, Bangor to Toomebridge, Downpatrick and all across Belfast, the chess prize-giving buzz has been a mobile adventure this year!

The cardboard trophy boxes were disinfected with Dettol wipes at the point of handing over to the award winners. Two metre distancing was also adopted to ensure maximum safety. A photo was taken of each winner with their trophy to create a composite group image to document the event.

Please note, it may not be possible for the leagues to begin again until late 2021 (after a vaccine has been rolled out across the entire population) therefore the Ulster Chess Union plans to run an online league for the 2020/2021 season. It is hoped that over-the-board competitions can return in 2021.

2020 Award Winners:

Div 1 Champions: Strand 1. Individual trophies presented to the following regular team members: Daniil Zelenchuk, Robbie Wright, Calum Leitch, Ross Harris, Brendan Jamison, Modestas Razbadauskas and David Hill.

Div 1 Board Prizes:

Board 1 Nick Pilkiewicz 6/9 = 67%

Board 2 Robbie Wright 5/6 = 83%

Board 3 Robert Lavery 6.5/8 = 81%

Board 4 Paul McNaughton 5.5/8 = 69%

Board 5 David Hill 5/6 = 83%

Div 2 Champions: Strand 2. Individual trophies presented to the following regular team members: Conor Spackman, Edward Khanzharov, Aaron Wafflart, James Wong, Ciaran Rowan and Dexter Harris.

Div 2 Board Prizes:

Board 1 Sam Moore 6/8 = 75%

Board 2 James O’Fee 5/6 = 83%

Board 3 Bernard Jaffa 5/6 = 83%

Board 4 Adrian Dornford-Smith 8/9 = 89%

Board 5 Paddy Magee 5/6 = 83%